5 Unusual Records of IPL Registered in Indian Premier League History

Records in the Indian Premier League This is one of the reasons why this competition is so well-known around the world. Every year, new records of IPL are set and broken as part of the game. But what else distinguishes this league from the previous 12 editions? The event allows players from around the world to compete against one another while playing in one of eight different franchises. It not only allows international players to play, but it also allows national talents to break into the spotlight in just a few years of their cricketing career.

When the notion of an Indian Premier League was first proposed in 2008, the Indian public had never seen anything like it. The score, which was tough to achieve in the 50-over format, is now easily attainable in the 20-over period. Not only are teams accumulating runs, but players have been smashing 50 sixes in a single season or scoring the maximum amount of centuries in a season.

Let’s take a look at some bizarre list of IPL records that are  impossible to break in the future:

37 runs in an over

Is it feasible to have 37 run overs in cricket? True, in the 2011 season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Chris Gayle hammered 37 runs in one over against Kochi Tuskers Kerala bowler, including four sixes, three fours, and one no-ball. While bathing, Kochi Tuskers Kerala set a target of 126 runs.

When Royal Challengers Bangalore openers Dilshan and Gayle came in to chase this tiny score, which got insane in the third over of RCB batting when Chris Gayle set a new record with 37 runs in a single over.

Looking at this record, do you think it will ever be broken? According to the analysis, if a batsman hits six sixes on a six-ball over, he scores 36 runs, and practically any bowlers bowl no-ball under such strain, he becomes more difficult to beat in the coming season or in the future.

Virat Kohli Performance – 973 Runs:

“Talent wins games, but collaboration wins tournaments.”

These statements perfectly describe the Royal Challengers Bangalore team. In the 2016 season, it appeared like this Run-machine would lead his side to their first IPL title. But, once again, that did not happen, and RCB finished as runners-up for the third time in IPL history. Virat Kohli, the IPL league’s best run-scorer, has accomplished everything in his cricketing career except winning the IPL championship.

Virat scored 973 runs this season, hitting four hundreds and six half-centuries with 38 sixes and 83 fours at an average of 81.08. The stats may appear ordinary, but consider the matches in which the talent has scored such floods of runs. 973 runs in 14 matches. No one in the previous 12 years has a record like this, demonstrating how difficult it is to score in a format like T-20.

Three seasons have passed, and no one has broken the record set by modern-day great Virat Kohli, and it appears that this record will remain unbroken in the coming season, as well as in the future.

The Kolkata Knight Riders have a 10-game winning streak.

Without a doubt, winning 10 games in a row in a 14-match format is next to impossible. This record was set by the Kolkata Knight Riders in 2014 and 2015, when they won 10 consecutive games. It was the same story as the previous season of the IPL, with KKR winning only two games out of the first seven.

Yet, flamboyant opener Gautam Gambhir captained KKR in 2014 and exemplifies how to turn the tables. Kolkata Knight Riders were almost out of the league when they reached the final against Kings XI Punjab, which they won because to the shrewd leadership skills of Gautam Gambhir.

Winning the 2014 final and the opening game of 2015 against the Mumbai Indians (MI) brings the tally to ten games in a row, which was finally broken by Royal Challengers Bangalore. But, based on these figures, this record is unbreakable, even in the future of the IPL.

Royal Challengers Bangalore has the highest team total:

In 20 overs, the score was 263-5. Actually, it’s not a typo; it’s the reality that the score was unable to be scored in a 50-over format. In a 20-over game, the team is handily winning. Having such a record team requires a player of exceptional talent, and such player was none other than Chris Gayle. On April 13, 2013, this flashy West Indian star astonished the world cricket with the records he possessed.

Batting first, Royal Challengers Bangalore opener Chris Gayle achieved the fastest century and then went on to score the best individual score of 175 runs off 66 balls, including 17 sixes and 13 fours, as Royal Challengers Bangalore amassed 263/5 in their allocated 20 overs. Chris Gayle finished unbeaten with 175*, the highest individual total in T-20 cricket.

Looking at this record, it is unlikely to be broken in the upcoming IPL season or in the future, yet it is possible given that 6 seasons have passed and this record remains unbroken.

Chennai Super Kings – Playoffs: 10

Chennai Super Kings is without a doubt one of the most consistent teams in Indian Premier League history. ten seasons and ten playoffs – eight finals – three IPL trophies Champions League winners in 2010, 2011, and 2018 – Champions League winners in 2010 and 2014. These figures demonstrate how consistent this team is in the IPL league.

The greatest win percentage – 60.14 and second highest run scorer in the league history Suresh Raina is one of the reasons why Chennai super kings has been so successful over the years. Based on CSK’s track record, no other team will be able to boast such numbers in the coming season, let alone in the future.

Chennai Super Kings were one of the teams that scored 100+ runs in 6-over power play during the 2014 IPL season, with Suresh Raina scoring 87 runs off 25 balls despite being run out; else, CSK may have recorded the quickest run-chase in IPL history. With so many records under their belt, no one else looked as good as CSK to have such records in the upcoming season or in the future.

Scroll to Top
Most Expensive Players of IPL 2024 with Auction Price IPL 2024: Hardik Pandya is set to captain MI in IPL 2024 Top 5 Youngsters To watch out for in World Cup 2023 Ravindra Jadeja: The Man behind the Magic – A Comprehensive Biography India vs Pakistan Asia Cup’s Biggest Rivalry WTC 2023 Final Will take place from 7 to 11 June