First Match of IPL 2024 – RCB vs CSK Teams, Schedule, Venue, Time

Here is the exciting news for the cricket fans, the first schedule of the TATA IPL 2024 has been released. The 17th season the Indian Premier League will kick off on March 22 at MA Chidambaram Stadium also known as Chepauk. The first match of IPL 2024 will be played between CSK (Chennai Super Kings) and RCB (Royal Challengers Bangalore).

Despite upcoming general elections in India, all the IPL 2024 matches has been decided to play in India. IPL president Arun Dhumal confirmed to The Indian Express that the IPL schedule for the first 15 days was announced on Thursday February 22. Another big news is that the first two home games of DC (Delhi Capital) will be played in Visakhapatnam. This decision comes as the DDCA (Delhi & District Cricket Association) requires additional time to prepare a new venue for the league.

The IPL 2024 finals are anticipated to take place on May 26, 2024, leaving only five days before the opening match of the men’s T20 World Cup. The T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held in the USA and the Caribbean, starting from June 1.

First Match of IPL 2024 Schedule

As discussed above in this article the first match of IPL 2024 teams will be CSK and RCB and whole information including venue, date and time, stadium etc. is mentioned in the table below.

CSK vs RCB22 March 20247:30 PM ISTChepauk Stadium, Chennai

Full Team Squad for First Match of IPL 2024

Lets discuss the full team squad for IPL 2024 First match which is going to happen on 22nd March 2024 between CSK vs RCB.

  • CSK: MS Dhoni (c), Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Devon Conway, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Mandal, Mukesh Choudhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Ajinkya Rahane, Shaik Rasheed, Mitchell Santner, Simarjeet Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, Avanish Rao Aravelly.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (c), Glenn Maxwell, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik, Suyash Prabhudessai, Will Jacks, Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Manoj Bhandage, Mayank Dagar, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Akash Deep, Mohammed Siraj, Reece Topley, Himanshu Sharma, Rajan Kumar, Cameron Green, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Tom Curran, Lockie Ferguson, Swapnil Singh, Saurav Chauhan.

CSK vs RCB: The Historic Rivalry Between Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Over the years, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have faced off 31 times in IPL history. Among these clashes, CSK emerged victorious 20 times, while RCB secured 10 wins, with one match ending in a draw.

The most recent showdown between these two teams occurred at CSK’s home ground. It was a high-scoring thriller where CSK set a formidable total of 226/6, led by stellar performances from Devon Conway (83 off 45) and Shivam Dube (52 off 27). Despite valiant efforts from RCB’s Faf du Plessis (62) and Glenn Maxwell (76), they fell just short of the target.

The rivalry between CSK and RCB is marked by unforgettable moments and intense battles, featuring star-studded lineups from both sides. One such memorable clash unfolded in Bangalore in 2018 when MS Dhoni’s heroics propelled CSK to victory.

In a challenging chase of 206, Dhoni’s blistering unbeaten knock of 70* off just 34 deliveries, including seven sixes, guided CSK to a remarkable win. However, a year later, in a closely contested match at the same venue, CSK narrowly lost by just one run despite Dhoni’s sensational 84* off 48 balls.

Don't forget to read our exclusive article: List of Top 15 Most Expensive Players in IPL 2024

Under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, CSK has lifted the IPL trophy four times (2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021), establishing themselves as one of the league’s most successful franchises. Meanwhile, RCB, despite finishing as runners-up on three occasions (2009, 2011, and 2016), is yet to secure their maiden IPL title.

As the IPL 2024 season unfolds, fans can anticipate another thrilling chapter in the CSK-RCB rivalry, with both teams aiming for supremacy on the cricketing stage.

How many matches are there in IPL 2024 RCB?

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) are scheduled to play five matches in the initial time table launched by BCCI

How many teams are there in IPL 2024?

There are 10 Teams in total, who will play IPL 2024 – MI, CSK, RCB, DC, PBSK, LSG, GT, KKR, RR, SRH

What is the record of CSK in IPL history?

They have won five IPL titles, which is the most along with Mumbai Indians. They have also been in 10 finals, the most by any team. Out of the 14 seasons they’ve played, they have made it to the playoffs 12 times, which is more than any other team. MS Dhoni has been their captain from the start, and Stephen Fleming is their current coach.

How many centuries have RCB made in IPL?

Shikhar Dhawan, Jos Buttler, Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill are the only four players till date to have scored centuries in consecutive matches. Sixteen (16) centuries have been made by the players of Royal Challengers Bangalore, which is more than any other team.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Most Expensive Players of IPL 2024 with Auction Price IPL 2024: Hardik Pandya is set to captain MI in IPL 2024 Top 5 Youngsters To watch out for in World Cup 2023 Ravindra Jadeja: The Man behind the Magic – A Comprehensive Biography India vs Pakistan Asia Cup’s Biggest Rivalry WTC 2023 Final Will take place from 7 to 11 June