Official ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule, Fixtures, Venue, Teams & Host Latest Updates

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

The 13th edition of the men’s 50 over world cup will take place in 2023 and India will be hosting the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 event. India will be hosting this event for the record-breaking fourth time.

The ICC men’s cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule to begin on October 5 and finish on November 19. The final will be likely to be held in world’s largest cricket stadium “Narendra Modi Stadium” Ahmedabad, with 11 other Indian cities longlisted as venues by the BCCI.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Venue Stadiums

The shortlist comprises Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Dharamsala, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Indore, Rajkot, and Mumbai. In all the tournament will comprise 48 matches including 3 knockouts over a period of 46 days. BCCI hasn’t specified any specified venues for any of the games yet, the delay in finalizing the venues is due to the complications caused by the monsoon season receding at various points across India.

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Mumbai, Ahmedabad to Hosts Semis And Final, Delhi Or Chennai To Witness India Vs Pakistan Clash, Says Report. However, given tense political relations between the two countries, the idea was discussed at the ICC meetings last week, with the hybrid Asia Cup model being looked at as a solution. Pakistan is hosting the Asia Cup but India will play their games at a neutral venue.

ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Format

Ten teams will compete for the prestigious trophy. The format will be similar to that of the 2019 tournament which was held in England and Wales, with a round-robin stage followed by knockouts.

In the round-robin stage, all ten teams will compete against each other once. A win earns the winning team two points in every match, while a tie earns both teams one point.

The top four teams from the round-robin stage will advance to the semi-finals. The winners of the two subsequent semi-finals will compete in the final, where the champion will be crowned.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualification

The main eligibility pathway for the tournament will be the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League 2020-23. The top seven teams in the CWCSL table, as well as India, who will automatically qualify as hosts, will gain entrance into the world championship.

The top 5 teams from the CWCSL table, the top 3 teams from the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, and the top two teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Play-off will then compete in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier to establish the World Cup’s final two teams.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League – Standings

Last updated on 21 March after Zimbabwe v Netherlands first ODI.

RankTeamMatchesWonLostTiedNo resultPointsNRRPenalty Overs
1England (Q)24158011550.976 
2New Zealand (Q)21145021500.697 
3India (hosts) (Q)21136021390.7821
4Bangladesh (Q)21138001300.233 
5Pakistan (Q)21138001300.108 
6Australia (Q)18126001200.785 
7Afghanistan (Q)15113011150.573 
8West Indies249150088-0.742
9South Africa197100278-0.412
10Sri Lanka217120277-0.093
icc men’s cricket world cup 2023

History – Quick Recap of 2019 ICC ODI World Cup

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 will be the tournament’s 13th edition. The first tournament was held in 1975 in England.

India will be the sole host for the first time. They previously shared the tournament’s hosting duties in 1987, 1996, and 2011.

England enters the tournament as the defending champions, having won the trophy on home soil in 2019 after defeating New Zealand in a thrilling final at Lord’s.

Australia is the most successful World Cup team in history, having won the tournament a record five times. The tournament has been won twice by the West Indies and India, and once by England, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2019

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Winners List
YearHostFinal Match playing Team Result
1975England West Indies vs AustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979England West Indies vs EnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983England India vs West IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987India Australia vs EnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992Australia & New Zealand Pakistan vs EnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan India & Sri LankaSri Lanka vs AustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999England Australia vs PakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003South Africa Australia vs IndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007West Indies Australia vs Sri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011India Bangladesh & Sri Lanka India vs Sri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Australia & New Zealand Australia vs New ZealandAustralia won by 7 wickets
2019 EnglandEngland Vs New ZealandEngland won in Super Over
icc men’s cricket world cup winners list


Where is the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 scheduled to happen?

It will be conducted entirely in India from the 5th of October to the 19th of November 2023, making it the first time the competition has been hosted entirely in India.

What are the dates for 2023 ODI Cricket World Cup?

The contest will take place from October 2023 to November 26th, 2023. In addition, the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 will feature 48 matches.

Which teams are qualified for ICC ODI World Cup 2023?

In total, 8 countries have already qualified for the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 Schedule. India is also included in this roster for the World Cup. India, England, New Zealand, Australia, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and the West Indies are among the nations chosen.

One Comment on “Official ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule, Fixtures, Venue, Teams & Host Latest Updates”

Comments are closed.